Prac in Progress…

Well I am nearly finished my first week in at prac and so far so good. I have taken a few classes already and helped out with several activities in other classes. The whole school is focusing on athletics this term in PE so it has been good to see the fundamentals and skills being taught from the beginning and watching students improve and develop their skills throughout this first week. It has been a challenge so far to try and incorporate ICT’s into the lessons but I have been working with my mentor and discussing different ways in which we can incorporate them. Each week we also have a Yr5/6 science and a Yr1/2 Maths so I thought it would be a good way to incorporate the use of ICT’s here. For example: Monday’s lesson students were to build a propeller that would be tested with water. I thought that this lesson could be introduced with a video to show what the experiment was and how it could be tested and observed. During PE lessons we are going to endeavor to use an App called ‘Coach my video’ to video students. This app allows us to use slow motion to see the exact body positioning and technique of students in different activities. I have used it a few times and love how it can help students learn about their own bodies and how to improve their technique. I am looking forward to the next two weeks, teaching more classes and getting to know the kids.

 

Leave a Reply

